Paideia School Library

Paideia School

The how & the why

Hand, Cynthia, 1978- author.

New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]

450 pages ; 22 cm

"Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs--but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her. But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for. Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson."--Provided by publisher.

Available

Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

1 copy available at Paideia School

ISBN:

9780062693167 (hardcover)

ISBN:

0062693166 (hardcover)

Dewey Class No:

[Fic] 23

Author:

Hand, Cynthia, 1978- author.

Title:

The how & the why / Cynthia Hand.

VaryingTitle:

How and the why

Edition:

First edition.

Physical:

450 pages ; 22 cm

ContentType:

text txt rdacontent

MediaType:

unmediated n rdamedia

CarrierType:

volume nc rdacarrier

Summary:

"Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs--but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her. But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for. Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson."--Provided by publisher.

Subject:

Adopted children--Juvenile fiction.

Subject:

Birthparents--Juvenile fiction.

Subject:

Teenage girls--Juvenile fiction.

Subject:

Teenage mothers--Juvenile fiction.

Subject:

Adopted children--Fiction.

Subject:

Birthparents--Fiction.

Subject:

Teenage girls--Fiction.

Subject:

Teenage mothers--Fiction.

Field Ind Subfield Data
001 Control No     35951
005 LastTransaction     20191113080755.0
008 Data Elements     190211t20192019nyu d 000 1 eng d
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  9780062693167
    $q   (hardcover)
020 ISBN   $a ISBN  0062693166
    $q   (hardcover)
035 System Ctrl No   $a System control number  (OCoLC)1085222603
035 System Ctrl No   $a System control number  (OCoLC)on1085222603
040 Cataloging Src   $a Original cataloging agency  YDX
    $b Language of cataloging  eng
    $e Description conventions  rda
    $c Transcribing agency  YDX
    $d Modifying agency  PX0
    $d Modifying agency  TnLvILS
049   $a   IG$A
082 Dewey Class No 04  $a Classification number  [Fic]
    $2 Edition number  23
100 ME:PersonalName 1   $a Personal name  Hand, Cynthia,
    $d Dates associated with a name  1978-
    $e Relator term  author.
245 Title 14  $a Title  The how & the why /
    $c Statement of responsibility  Cynthia Hand.
246 VaryingTitle 3   $a Title proper/short title  How and the why
250 Edition   $a Edition statement  First edition.
264 ProductnNotice $a Place of prod/dist/manuf.  New York, NY :
    $b Name of prod./pub./dist./man.  HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers,
    $c Date of prod/dist/manuf/copyrt  [2019]
264 ProductnNotice $c Date of prod/dist/manuf/copyrt  √É2019
300 Physical Desc   $a Extent  450 pages ;
    $c Dimensions  22 cm
336 ContentType   $a Content type term  text
    $b Content type code  txt
    $2 Source  rdacontent
337 MediaType   $a Media type term  unmediated
    $b Media type code  n
    $2 Source  rdamedia
338 CarrierType   $a Carrier¬†type term  volume
    $b Carrier type code  nc
    $2 Source  rdacarrier
520 Summary   $a Summary, etc. note  "Cassandra McMurtrey has the best parents a girl could ask for; they've given Cass a life she wouldn't trade for the world. She has everything she needs--but she has questions, too. Like, to know who she is. Where she came from. Questions her adoptive parents can't answer, no matter how much they love her. But eighteen years ago, someone wrote Cass a series of letters. And they may just hold the answers Cass has been searching for. Alternating between Cass's search for answers and letters from the pregnant teen who placed her for adoption, this emotionally resonant narrative is the perfect read for fans of Nina LaCour and Jandy Nelson."--Provided by publisher.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Adopted children
    $v Form subdivision  Juvenile fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Birthparents
    $v Form subdivision  Juvenile fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Teenage girls
    $v Form subdivision  Juvenile fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Teenage mothers
    $v Form subdivision  Juvenile fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Adopted children
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Birthparents
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Teenage girls
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
650 Subj:Topic $a Topical term  Teenage mothers
    $v Form subdivision  Fiction.
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Epistolary fiction.
    $2 Source of term  lcgft
655 IT:Genre $a Genre/form data or focus term  Bildungsromans.
    $2 Source of term  lcgft
852 Holdings 1   $h Classification part  F Han
    $i Item part  Han
    $p Barcode  54183
    $9 Cost  $17.99
    $a Location  PS

Editorial Reviews

Google Books Preview

preview