Paideia School Library

Paideia School

Search Results
Author=Crutcher, Chris.

Showing 1-16 of 16 items

  1. Per Page:
  2. 10
  3. 20
  4. 50
  5. ALL
    Deadline

    Advantage
    Digital
    Collection

    Deadline

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Ben Wolf has big things planned for his senior year. Had big things planned. Now what he has is some very bad news and only one year left to make his mark on the world. How can a pint-sized, smart-ass seventeen-year-old do anything significant in the nowheresville of Trout, Idaho? First, Ben makes sure that no one else knows what is going on €€” not his superstar quarterback brother, Cody, not his parents, not his coach, no one. Next, he decides to become the best 127-pound football player Trout High has ever seen; to give his close-minded civics teacher a daily migraine; and to help the local drunk clean up his act. And then there's Dallas Suzuki. Amazingly perfect, fascinating Dallas Suzuki, who may or may not give Ben the time of day. Really, she's first on the list. Living with a secret isn't easy, though, and Ben's resolve begins to crumble . . . especially when he realizes that he isn't the only person in Trout with secrets.

    Ironman

    Advantage
    Digital
    Collection

    Ironman Stotan Series, Book 2

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Bo Brewster has been at war with his father for as long as he can remember. Following angry outbursts at his football coach and English teacher that have cost him his spot on the football team and moved him dangerously close to expulsion from school, he turns to the only adult he believes will listen: Larry King. In his letters to Larry, Bo describes his quest for excellence on his own terms. No more coaches for me, he tells the talk show icon, no more dads. I'm going to be a triathlete, an Ironman. Relegated to Mr. Nak's before-school Anger Management group (which he initially believes to be populated with future serial killers and freeway snipers), Bo meets a hard-edged, down-on-their-luck pack of survivors with stainless steel shields against the world that Bo comes to see are not so different from his own. It is here he meets and falls in love with Shelly, a future American Gladiator, whose passion for physical challenge more than matches his. Ironman is a funny, sometimes heartbreaking story about growing up in the heart of struggle. It is about standing up, getting knocked down, and standing up again. It is about being heard--and learning to listen.

    Period 8

    Advantage
    Digital
    Collection

    Period 8

    Crutcher, Chris.

    In this terrifying and provocative novel by the bestselling and award-winning author of Deadline and Staying Fat for Sarah Byrnes , a teenage boy tries to uncover what happened to a girl who has vanished from his high school. Was she abducted, or did she run for her life? Paul "The Bomb" Baum tells the truth. No matter what. It was something he learned at Sunday school. But telling the truth can cause problems, and not just minor ones. And as Paulie discovers, finding the truth can be even more problematic. Period 8 is supposed to be that one period in high school where the truth can shine, a safe haven. Only what Paulie and Hannah (his ex-girlfriend, unfortunately) and his other classmates don't know is that the ultimate liar is in their midst. Terrifying, thought-provoking, and original, this novel combines all the qualities of a great psychological thriller with the controversy, ethics, athletics, humor, and raw emotion of a classic Crutcher story.

    Whale talk

    Advantage
    Digital
    Collection

    Whale talk

    Crutcher, Chris.

    "A truly exceptional book."€€”Washington Post There's bad news and good news about the Cutter High School swim team. The bad news is that they don't have a pool. The good news is that only one of them can swim anyway. Bestselling author Chris Crutcher's controversial and acclaimed novel follows a group of outcasts as they take on inequality and injustice in their high school. "Crutcher's superior gifts as a storyteller and his background as a working therapist combine to make magic in Whale Talk. The thread of truth in his fiction reminds us that heroes can come in any shape, color, ability or size, and friendship can bridge nearly any divide."€€”Washington Post T.J. Jones hates the blatant preferential treatment jocks receive at his high school, and the reverence paid to the varsity lettermen. When he sees a member of the wrestling team threatening an underclassman, T.J. decides he's had enough. He recruits some of the biggest misfits at Cutter High to form a swim team. They may not have very much talent, but the All-Night Mermen prove to be way more than T.J. anticipated. As the unlikely athletes move closer to their goal, these new friends might learn that the journey is worth more than the reward. For fans of Andrew Smith and Marieke Nijkamp. "Crutcher offers an unusual yet resonant mixture of black comedy and tragedy that lays bare the superficiality of the high-school scene. The book's shocking climax will force readers to re-examine their own values and may cause them to alter their perception of individuals pegged as 'losers.'"€€”Publishers Weekly An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults New York Public Library Books for the Teen Age

    Ironman

    Audio
    F
    Cru

    Ironman

    Crutcher, Chris.

    While training for a triathlon, seventeen-year-old Bo attends an anger management group at school which leads him to examine his relationship with his father.

    Available

    Audiobooks - JH & HSAudiobooks - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    King of the mild frontier

    B
    Crutcher

    King of the mild frontier : an ill-advised autobiography

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Chris Crutcher, author of young adult novels such as "Ironman" and "Whale Talk," as well as short stories, tells of growing up in Cascade, Idaho, and becoming a writer.

    Available

    Biography - JH & HSBiography - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Angry management

    F
    Cru

    Angry management

    Crutcher, Chris.

    A collection of short stories featuring characters from earlier books by Chris Crutcher.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Athletic shorts

    F
    Cru

    Athletic shorts : six short stories

    Crutcher, Chris.

    A collection of short stories featuring characters from earlier books by Chris Crutcher.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    The Crazy Horse Electric game

    F
    Cru

    The Crazy Horse Electric game

    Crutcher, Chris.

    A high school athlete, frustrated at being handicapped after an accident, runs away from home and is helped back to mental and physical health by a black benefactor and the people in a special school where he enrolls.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Deadline

    F
    Cru

    Deadline

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Given the medical diagnosis of one year to live, high school senior Ben Wolf decides to fulfill his greatest fantasies, ponders his life's purpose and legacy, and converses through dreams with a spiritual guide known as "Hey-Soos.".

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Ironman

    F
    CRU

    Ironman : a novel

    Crutcher, Chris.

    While training for a triathlon, seventeen-year-old Bo attends an anger management group at school which leads him to examine his relationship with his father.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Running loose

    F
    Cru

    Running loose

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Louie, a high school senior in a small Idaho town, learns about sportsmanship, love, and death as he matures into manhood.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    The sledding hill

    F
    Cru

    The sledding hill

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Billy, recently deceased, keeps an eye on his best friend, fourteen-year-old Eddie, who has added to his home and school problems by becoming mute, and helps him stand up to a conservative minister and English teacher who is orchestrating a censorship challenge.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Staying fat for Sarah Byrnes

    F
    Cru

    Staying fat for Sarah Byrnes : a novel

    Crutcher, Chris.

    The daily class discussions about the nature of man, the existence of God, abortion, organized religion, suicide and other contemporary issues serve as a backdrop for a high-school senior's attempt to answer a friend's dramatic cry for help.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Stotan!

    F
    Cru

    Stotan!

    Crutcher, Chris.

    A high school coach invites members of his swimming team to a memorable week of rigorous training that tests their moral fiber as well as their physical stamina.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag
    Whale talk

    F
    Cru

    Whale talk

    Crutcher, Chris.

    Intellectually and athletically gifted, TJ, a multiracial, adopted teenager, shuns organized sports and the gung-ho athletes at his high school until he agrees to form a swimming team and recruits some of the school's less popular students.

    Available

    Fiction  - JH & HSFiction - JH & HS

    Add to Bookbag

Showing 1-16 of 16 items

  1. Per Page:
  2. 10
  3. 20
  4. 50
  5. ALL